“Highway Star”: Abstract Psychedelic Mopar Metamorphosis. Hemi Powered Art for Gear Heads and Lead Foot Yogis.

Cue the Deep Purple please….

Because nothing really makes one feel like burying their foot in the floorboards like a little Ian Gillan and the boys pounding out “Highway Star” through the 6×9 co-axials via that classic of hard rock and heaviness, “Machine Head”. Oh hell yeah. That just feels good. Blasting away while you listen to the roaring, growling howl of classic American muscle car hemi power. Yes, I know, bad for the environment. Childish and quite immature to boot. But oh, damn, it sure just feels good. Adrenaline junkies, speed freaks and just those who want to roll fast in Detroit steel… this one’s for you.

A restored and customized 1969 Dodge Hemi Charger packed full of loads of cool sounding stuff that makes motor junkies drool and more freaking horsepower than the 7th Calvary circa 1870. That’s what the basis for this work is. A photograph of the engine compartment of said car. I’ve had this laying about for a while now. The picture was sent to me by the owner of the car, one Zengirl. Yes, my wondrous and playful soul companion is the owner of this ass shaking, spine tingling ride. And she’s looking to sell it. So for any of you out there who may have the taste and the kind of big, hard cash for such a thing, drop me a line and I’ll hook you up with the guy who is selling it for her and has all the juicy details.

For the rest of us, there’s the heavy metal thunder of this psychedelic metamorphosis courtesy of my eternal playmate and closet gear junkie, The Little Goddess…

Enjoy!

"Highway Star" is a psychedelic abstract and visionary art work and image derived from a photograph of a 1969 Dodge Hemi Charger. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design.

Yes, it’s a bit grainy. The original pic was small and low res for emailing purposes. But I do love the outcome and finding it again has me thinking about doing this with other motors of interest. Hmmmm…. A little H.R. Geiger like in a way.

Here’s some pics of the actual car for you speed kings and gear monkeys…. and really, for any one who loves good design.

1969 Dodge Charger RT restored and customized. For sale by owner.

 

Yeah… that’s pretty damn cool. And for you Purple freaks here’s the classic opening verse and chorus of that delightful little ditty to the joys of high speed motor-vatin’….

“Nobody gonna take my car
I’m gonna race it to the ground
Nobody gonna beat my car
It’s gonna break the speed of sound

Oooh it’s a killing machine
It’s got everything
Like a driving power big fat tyres
And everything

I love it and I need it
I bleed it yeah it’s a wild hurricane
Alright hold tight
I’m a highway star”

As always your comments, thoughts and opinions are cherished and appreciated here at The Square…

Yours in occasionally enjoying the pleasure of going very fast in something very cool…
Cosmo

P.S. To my beloved little gear head… I love you baby.

 

Share yourself

