Conscious Life Experiment. Day 24. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design.

Conscious Life Experiment: 30 Days of Awareness. 4 Minute Meditation Day Twenty-Four.

Welcome to Day 24 of awareness. And what exactly are we becoming aware of? Well, I can’t speak for you, but I can speak to what things I’ve become more aware of as I’ve engaged myself in this process, this little experiment.

The act of meditation or, as I now refer to it, consciously relaxing, has become easier for me to do. And this is a big one for me. I’ve always struggled with developing and sustaining any kind of daily practice when it comes to meditation. And in examining that failure, I’ve come to discover that for me, it was based on a couple of things. One being a lack of focus or rather being unfocused. And from that stemmed a lack of ritual which I perceived as being necessary. Then there was just the idea of Capital M Meditation. It seemed so damn serious. Yes, I knew all the benefits, all the ways in which meditation would help me. From the physical and mental sides to the ability to create and manifest the life I desired. I even had my own proofs I could look back on. There were times I was able to sustain extended periods of daily practice. But in the end, it became “serious”, it became “work”. And I just didn’t want any more work in my life.

The 4 minute meditation idea helped me get through that. A few of the words for various days in this experiment caused me to rethink, re-contextualize and reinvent meditation. Arming myself with the idea, then the belief, that I could get much benefit from a short “burst” of meditation was quite empowering. I no longer needed to be a Zen monk to achieve the benefits. To meditate. And damn, that was liberating. Because as much as I admire Zen monks, I also feel that a life of limited interaction with the world, a life spent in contemplation, while perhaps necessary for some, is not a life I wish to lead. And there was just no way I could bring myself to the place where I could devote the kind of time, focus and discipline required to be that Zen monk. I am far too much of a rock and roller, a free spirit and yes, a highly undisciplined soul.

So yes, developing and expanding on the 4 minute meditation concept has taken me into other meditations, other methods of conscious relaxation. And I feel like I’m not only getting benefits, but also breakthroughs. And breakthroughs are what I’m after. “Aha!” moments. I have no interest in the long slow road. I also probably don’t have time left for taking the long slow road either. And so I am fostering new beliefs. Because that’s what it really comes down to. What you believe. What’s possible is entirely the product of my beliefs. That’s been re-enforced during this experiment also.

There’s other stuff, but we’ll get to that… or maybe not.

If you’re returning… by all means, carry on…

If you’re new to this, click here for a brief introduction to the concept…

Here’s today’s image…

Meditation image for the Conscious Life Experiment, Day 24. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design

And today’s word is “deserve”….

Conscious Life Experiment Day 24. Word for the Day. Deserve. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design.

As always, your thoughts and opinions as well as your insights and general ramblings are welcomed and cherished here at The Square. So please, if you feel it, peel it…

Yours in possibility and paradigm shifting consciousness,
Cosmo

P.S. To my beloved and treasured Zengirl… my gratitude, my thanks and my love for all that you bring to me…

Share yourself

