Conscious Life Experiment Day 22. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design

Conscious Life Experiment: 30 Days of Awareness. 4 Minute Meditation Day Twenty-Two.

Welcome to Day 22 of what has become, for me, quite the experience. And by that I mean both in terms of participating in the experiment itself and by creating it and administering it for it’s duration. I’ve learned things from both sides of the experience, and that was a bit unexpected.

I knew I’d get benefit from the actual experiment and I certainly have. Both on the meditation side of it and the awareness word of the day side of it. But I really didn’t think about the administration of it. the daily creating of that day’s post. And in that I learned some simple discipline. A daily practice of preparing and writing the post. And that has been a good thing and an enlightening thing. While I prepared the images and words ahead of time, I only really got the first 3-4 posts worked up before launching the project. I realized in writing those that I didn’t want to “get ahead” of the project. I wanted to be in it like you are in it.

And that’s been an interesting process. I discovered that yes, at sometimes, I felt like “Damn, I got to get back and write that post.” or that I would sometimes try and write it before I was ready to. And I’ve come to love the experience of writing these. Yes, I have experienced resistance. I don’t consider myself much of a writer, it’s not an area I’ve ever truly felt all that comfortable with. When it comes to grammar and such, I confess to having not paid a great deal of attention back in school. So the experience of this blog and in particular, this project has been one of doing that which I am least comfortable with.

Which has got me to thinking about lots of other things I was and am not comfortable with. Quitting smoking for one. That’s a big one for me. Talk about choosing to avoid pain over gaining pleasure… yikes! And I have done this several times in the past only to end up failing and then rationalizing that failure. I’ve had countless excuses and rationalizations. And talk about something I’d always put off to “tomorrow”… quitting smoking was the big one.

I smoked for the better part of nearly 40 years. And enjoyed it for the most part. However I have arrived, partially through the work of this blog, partially through the influence of my beloved soul mate Zengirl, at a place where failure is truly no longer an option. Arrived at a place where gaining pleasure has at last outweighed avoiding pain. I have finally quit smoking. Yes, it’s just the end of day two, and yes, I am using an electronic cigarette, but I am confident, knowing in a way I haven’t felt or known before, that I am truly done with the death sticks.

So yes, quite an impact.

For those of you who are new to this, click here for Day One which will give you a taste of what this is about.

For those of you returning…

Here’s today’s meditation image…

Meditation image for The Conscious Life Experiment Day 22. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design

Today’s word is “trust”…

Conscious Life Experiment Word for Day 22. Trust. ©2013 Sacred Square Art and Design

As always your thoughts, insights, opinions and feelings are cherished and most treasured by the staff here at The Square. So, if you feel like it please share…

Yours in possibility,
Cosmo

P.S. To my beloved Zengirl… thank you for your wisdom and your strength… I will always be grateful for the gift that you are.

2 thoughts on “Conscious Life Experiment: 30 Days of Awareness. 4 Minute Meditation Day Twenty-Two.

  1. For someone pushing past their comfort zone, you are certainly doing a hell of a job. You may not be a grammar geek but you write from the heart and that shines through. This series is different things to different people, and it’s lovely to hear that you too are getting several levels of experience from it. To be honest, it’s a challenge to do the work daily, so I can only imagine that administering it is even more so, but well worth it. Thank you for continuing to share your creative gifts with us. As to quitting smoking, bravo for taking the first step (the first few days are hell, as are the next few days, and the next…), and for having the courage to make your intentions public, upping the ante as it were. Best of luck in that – and all – endeavors!

    • Well thank you so very much for the kind words and the encouragement. Yeah, it is a challenge to get in the discipline to do anything with regularity and purpose. I’m in the process of forming several new habits which for me is a good way of saying it. I’m quite good at forming habits. Mostly, in the past, those habits have been less than habits instead of empowering habits. Smoking cigarettes is a prime example of that. So, I’ve been trying to find new definitions, new terms for creating behaviors and results that I want. Forming new habits is one. Positive addiction is a term I’ve been using. And I’m now calling my meditation “conscious relaxation”. It seems to be working. Again, thank you so much for your words, encouragement and participation in this experiment. You, my dear, rock.

Share yourself

