Preview image for "Thunder Over..." A piece of digital and analog art and design based on the 8 hexagrams of the I Ching that have the trigram Thunder on top.

“Thunder Over…” Art and Design of The I Ching Hexagrams

Mmm… The eight hexagrams of the I Ching that are formed with the trigram, Thunder, on the top. Again this is another spray paint on metal based piece. The “slices” which make up the yin (short lines) and yang (long lines) lines of the piece were taken from photos of the spray blasting then arranged in the computer into these images of the hexagrams. The spray paint art really seems to give an organic flavor to the work that the digital can’t duplicate. Nor should it be asked to really. The digital has it’s own flavors and they are neither less than or more than these analog flavors in my mind. Just different. There may be a combination of the styles waiting out there, waiting for me to come to it. Maybe not.

I had no idea where this creative journey would go when I began playing with elements of the I Ching in art roughly four months ago. It’s evolved, or perhaps devolved, on it’s own accord. Things leading to other things. Sometimes its just a small thing, playing about, messing and suddenly discovering something that takes you in another direction. A new vein in the goldmine. You explore it. You take gold from it. Sometimes you take lead. Sometimes its that “Aha!” moment when something big clicks like the tumblers on the vault door at Fort Knox. Boom. There goes the dynamite.

The later seems to be the case with this latest round of creative pursuit. Art and design. Analog, in the real world presented and arranged in the digital domain. Many a sound engineer would tell you that the best sounding recordings are those that are recorded in an analog format and mixed in a digital one. The same is holding true for this body of work. There seems to be an inexhaustible supply of inspiration that comes from the wet on wet blasting and blowing sessions. Big meditative pieces and I Ching inspired pieces. Both types are flowing and the backlog is building. That’s fine. Better to spend time creating at this point then blogging. Although I do want to get this work out. Ahhhh, such a quandary, lol.

Here’s the piece, the image of these eight hexagrams of the I Ching based on the trigram Thunder. Links to interpretations are below it.

"Thunder Over..." Art and design work based on the eight hexagrams of the I Ching that are created from the trigram Thunder being on top.

Worlds within worlds is one way it appears to me. A topography of inner and outer spaces. Geological Biological. The trigram Thunder is known as “The Arousing”. It could be thought of as the spark, the initial energy. Or at least that’s how it seems to me. The interpretations are the standard ones I’ve been linking to in past posts on i Ching hexagrams. There is the concise one and the more in-depth Wilhelm interpretation. Explore them both. All insights are welcome. The Wilhelm is a more scholarly work but there is certainly value in both.

Here’s the hexagrams, from the left of the top row…

#34 • Ta Chuang • The Power of the Great • Trigrams: Thunder over Heaven
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #34
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #34

#62 • Hsaio Kuo • The Preponderance of the Small • Trigrams: Thunder over Mountain
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #62
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #62

#51 • Chen • The Arousing • Trigrams: Thunder over Thunder
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #51
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #51

#32 • Heng • Duration (Constancy)• Trigrams: Thunder over Wind
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #32
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #32

Here’s the hexagrams on the bottom row, from the left…

#54 • Kuei Mei • The Marrying Maiden • Trigrams: Thunder over Lake
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #54
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #54

#55 • Feng • Abundance • Trigrams: Thunder over Fire
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #55
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #55

#40 • Hsieh • Deliverance • Trigrams: Thunder over Water
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #40
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #40

#16 • Yu • Enthusiasm • Trigrams: Thunder over Earth
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #16
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #16

I hope you enjoy the work and also, that you explore the I Ching in all its interesting flavors.

Your comments, thoughts and opinions are of great importance and are always welcome.

Yours in creating possibility,
Cosmo

P.S. To my cherished Zen Girl… Happy Birthday, baby. You’re perfectly imperfect and I love you.

Share yourself

