Preview image of "Eart over..." an I Ching artwork featuring the eight hexagrams created with the trigram Earth on the top. Spray Paint on metal. Sacred Square Design.

“Earth over…” Art of the I Ching. 8 Hexagrams formed with the Trigram Earth on top.

Further exploration and expression with wet on wet spray paint on metal. This time a sequence of eight hexagrams (6 lines) that are formed from placing the trigram (3 lines) Earth on top. These were assembled by taking slices (yin and yang lines) from the larger 4 works and assembling them into the hexagrams you see here. There’s some delicious detail in the individual lines and the overall effect is quite organic. At least to me. Biology? Topography? Microscopic views? Earth from space? Other planets? These slices appear to me as all of those and I do love the way they come together in this and other works. I’ll show some of the bigger, non-I Ching works that these are created from in just a bit. But for now, I’m enjoying creating these hexagrams.

I’ll give the names and links to interpretations of these hexagrams below. For now, here’s “Earth over…”. The original size is: 25″ x 19″.

 "Earth over..." an I Ching artwork featuring the eight hexagrams created with the trigram Earth on the top. Spray Paint on metal. Sacred Square Design.

The eight hexagrams in this artwork are formed by having the trigram Earth on the top. The other 7 trigrams are on the bottom. Here’s a breakdown of these hexagrams and links to both concise and in-depth interpretations of their meanings. From the top left going across to the bottom right, the hexagrams are:

#11 • T’ai • Peace • Earth over Heaven
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #11
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #11

#15 • Ch’ien • Modesty • Earth over Mountain
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #15
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #15

#24 • Fu • The Return/Turning Point • Earth over Thunder
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #24
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #24

#46 • Sheng • Pushing Upward • Earth over Wind
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #46
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #46

#19 • Lin • Approach • Earth over Lake
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #19
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #19

#36 • Ming I • The Darkening of the Light • Earth over Fire
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #36
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #36

#7 • Shih • The Army/Integrity and Resolution • Earth over Water
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #7
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #7

#2 • Kun • The Receptive • Earth over Earth
Concise interpretation of I Ching hexagram #2
Wilhelm interpretation of I Ching hexagram #2

I would encourage to explore both interpretations and the others that are out there. The Wilhelm interpretation is a scholarly one and as such, is in-depth and can require a more thorough reading to fully grasp what’s there. It’s worth it in my opinion. But any way you choose to use and access the I Ching and it’s oracle wisdom is the right way for you. Enjoy and keep seeking.

Your comments, thoughts, criticisms and opinions are welcomed and encouraged.

Yours in possibility,
Cosmo

To my beloved and treasured Zen Girl, all my love and thanks. Without you I would be less of a man.

Share yourself

