"The Big Ching" All 64 Hexagrams of the I Ching done in Chakra colors. Digital art based on the I Ching and chakras by Sacred Square Design.

“The Big Ching: All 64 Hexagrams of the I Ching in Chakra Colors” I Ching and Chakra Art

This is actually an interpretation experiment I did in my very first round of I Ching inspired work. I was looking for a way to represent all sixty-four of the hexagrams in a way that was somehow different than what I was seeing out in the world. I played and messed around with a few different looks and while I liked them, there was something missing to me.

My treasured and beloved Zen Girl, who those of you who stop by and read all the way to the end, lol, know is my inspiration and my guide, was responsible for this breakthrough. She suggested the colors of the chakras. To somehow combine them with the hexagrams of the I Ching. She is a very spiritual and creative soul and her advice broke through and I saw it right away.

The only thing that was needed was to fit the seven colors of the chakras against the six lines of the hexagrams. By a method of rotation and using the background of the hexagram as one of the chakra colors, I was able to  create, what I think is a very cool flow to the overall pattern.

Take a look for yourself… :”The Big Ching”. Original size: 32″x32″

Preview image of "The Big Ching" All 64 Hexagrams of the I Ching done in Chakra colors. Digital art based on the I Ching and chakras by Sacred Square Design.

I really do dig the brightness of this piece. especially set against the black background. It’s almost a video game look in a way. Think Space Invaders…:) It also would be an awesome dance floor with all of the lights on throb. Nice on a wall, too. Stare into it for a bit and it gets trance like, meditative… immersive. At least it is for me. Your results may differ.

So what the hell are all these trippy squares and what do the signify? From upper left going across each row and down to the lower right, these are the 64 hexagrams of the I Ching. Each one is created by combining two of the eight nuclear trigrams.

I could go into in-depth explanations and interpretations of these hexagrams but, frankly that would keep me from making more art and that is the core driver. I enjoy writing, but that would be too much. Besides there’s plenty of information out there about what The I Ching means and interpretations of it’s hexagrams. I’ll list them all and leave you a couple of links at the bottom of the post for further exploration on your part.

#1 • Ch’ien • The Creative • Formed by the trigrams Heaven over Heaven
#2 • K’un • The Receptive • Trigrams Earth over Earth
#3 • Chun • Difficulty at the Beginning • Water over Thunder
#4 • Meng • Youthful Folly • Mountain over Water
#5 • Hsu • Waiting (Nourishment) • Water over Heaven
#6 • Sung • Conflict • Heaven over Water
#7 • Shuh • The Army • Earth over Water
#8 • Pi • Holding Together • Water over Earth
#9 • Hsaio Ch’u • The Taming Power of the Small • Wind  over Heaven
#10 • Lu • Treading (Conduct) • Heaven over Lake
#11 • T’ai • Peace • Earth over Heaven
#12 • P’i • Standstill (Stagnation) • Heaven over Earth
#13 • T’ung Jen • Fellowship with Men • Heaven over Fire
#14 • Ta Yu • Possession in Great Measure • Fire over Heaven
#15 • Ch’ien • Modesty • Earth over Mountain
#16 • Yu • Enthusiasm • Thunder over Earth
#17 • Sui • Following • Lake over Thunder
#18 • Ku • Work on what has been Spoiled • Mountain over Wind
#19 • Lin • Approach • Earth over Lake
#20 • Kuan • Contemplation • Wind over Earth
#21 • Shih Ho • Biting Through • Fire over Thunder
#22 • Pi • Grace • Mountain over Fire
#23 • Po • Splitting Apart • Mountain over Earth
#24 • Fu • Return (The Turning Point) • Earth over Thunder
#25 • Wu Wang • Innocence (The Unexpected) • Heaven over Thunder
#26 • Ta Ch’u • The Taming Power of the Great • Mountain over Heaven
#27 • I • The Corners of the Mouth (Providing Nourishment) • Mountain over Thunder
#28 • Ta Kuo • Preponderance of the Great • Lake over Wind
#29 • K’an • The Abysmal (Water) • Water over Water
#30 • Li • The Clinging, Fire • Fire over Fire
#31 • Hsien • Influence (Wooing) • Lake over Mountain
#32 • Heng • Duration • Thunder over Wind

Lets take a short intermission at the halfway point…. feel free to visit the concession stand in our lobby…

#33 • Tun • Retreat • Heaven over Mountain
#34 • Ta Chuang • The Power of the Great • Thunder over Heaven
#35 • Chin • Progress • Fire over Earth
#36 • Ming I • Darkening of the Light • Earth over Fire
#37 • Chia Jen • The Family • Wind over Fire
#38 • K’uei • Opposition *• Fire over Lake
#39 • Chien • Obstruction • Water over Mountain
#40 • Hsieh • Deliverance • Thunder over Water
#41 • Sun • Decrease • Mountain over Lake
#42 • I • Increase • Wind over Thunder
#43 • Kuai • Breakthrough • Lake over Heaven
#44 • Kou • Coming to Meet • Heaven over Wind
#45 • Ts’ui • Gathering Together • Lake over Earth
#46 • Sheng • Pushing Upward • Earth over Wind
#47 • K’un • Oppression • Lake over Water
#48 • Ching • The Well * Water over Wind
#49 • Ko • Revolution • Lake over Fire
#50 • Ting • The Cauldron • Fire over Wind
#51 • Chen • The Arousing • Thunder over Thunder
#52 • Ken • Keeping Still • Mountain over Mountain
#53 •  Chien • Development (Gradual Progress) • Wind over Mountain
#54 • Kuei Mei • The Marrying Maiden • Thunder over Lake
#55 • Feng • Abundance • Thunder over Fire
#56 • Lu • The Wanderer • Fire over Mountain
#57 • Sun • The Gentle • Wind over Wind
#58 • Tui • The Joyous • Lake over Lake
#59 •  Huan • Dispersion (Dissolution) • Wind over Water
#60 • Chieh • Limitation • Water over Lake
#61 • Chung Fu • Inner Truth • Wind over Lake
#62 • Hsiao Kuo • Preponderance of the Small • Thunder over Mountain
#63 • Chi Chi • After Completion • Water over Fire
#64 • Wei Chi • Before Completion • Fire over Water

And there they are. All 64 hexagrams of the I Ching. Interesting just to scan the list. Now as promised, here’s a couple of links to interpretations of what the hexagrams mean.

Concise interpretations at Psychic Revelations

A more in-depth interpretation as presented in the Wilhelm translation of the I Ching

As always, your comments, thoughts and opinions as well as experiences are welcome and encouraged.

Yours in creating possibility,
Cosmo

P.S. Ahhh,,, my beloved Zen Girl… I would not have done this without you. Thank you baby.

 

Share yourself

