Preview image of the Inner Child I Ching Tarot And Oracle Cards featuring I Cjhing hexagrams 33 through 40.

The I Ching and Chakras, Part 5: A New Way To Look At An Ancient Oracle Through A Card Deck

It’s been awhile since I posted a new round of these I Ching tarot cards. They’ve been done for some time, but other work has been pressing. But now it’s time to return to these and get them out in the world.

This set of eight hexagrams covers the hexagrams 33 through 40. The impetus for this entire project was the inspiration and conversations I’d been having with my beloved Zen Girl about the I Ching and her use of it as a guide and oracle for her life. Those conversations led me to explore the I Ching and to begin considering creating a set of tarot cards from the hexagrams.

The basic art for these is quite simple and child like, hence the name of Inner Child I Ching. The bright colors of the chakras seemed to set the black yin and yang lines of the hexagrams off quite well. The chakra colors have a meditative and healing effect to me. Sometimes I’ll just do a reading with the traditional 3 coin method and then pull up the associated card on the screen. It’s nice to darken the room and just sit and stare at the card. Reflecting on the meaning of the hexagram and its relation to the current events of my life.

I’ll put links to a couple of interpretations for the I Ching at the bottom of this post for those that are interested in discovering more of this ancient oracle text.

Here’s hexagrams 33 through 40 of the Inner Child I Ching Tarot and Oracle Cards.

Inner Child I Ching Tarot and Oracle Card Set featuring the hexagrams 33 through 40 of the I Ching.

I Ching hexagrams consist of six lines. Yang (the unbroken lines) and Yin (the broken lines). They are created from combinations of the eight trigrams (three lines); Heaven, Earth, Thunder, Mountain, Wind, Water, Fire and Lake. Here’s the basic information on these eight hexagrams.

#33 • Tun • Heaven over Mountain (the trigrams that make up this hexagram) • Retreat
#34 • Ta Chuang • Thunder over Heaven • The Power of the Great
#35 • Chin • Fire over Earth • Progress
#36 • Ming I • Earth over Fire • Darkening of the Light
#37 • Chih Jen • Wind over Fire • The Family
#38 • K’uei • Fire over Lake • Opposition
#39 • Chien • Water over Mountain • Obstruction
#40 • Hsieh • Thunder over Water • Deliverance

Here are links to the previous Inner Child I Ching Tarot and Oracle card posts;

I Ching hexagrams 1 through 8

I Ching hexagrams 9 through 16

I Ching hexagrams 17 through 24

I Ching hexagrams 25 through 32

For those that are interested in exploring the meaning and interpretations of the I Ching hexagrams, here’s a couple of good sites. There are several good to great sites out there for the I Ching including some really interesting and esoteric interpretations and ways to look at this ancient classic of Chinese thought.

Concise interpretations of the I Ching hexagrams can be found here…

In-Depth interpretations of the I Ching based on the Wilhelm translation…

As always your comments and thoughts are appreciated, encouraged and welcomed.

Yours in creating possibility,
Cosmo

P.S. All my appreciation, respect and love to my most cherished Zen Girl for her wisdom, insights and sense of humor.

One thought on “The I Ching and Chakras, Part 5: A New Way To Look At An Ancient Oracle Through A Card Deck

  1. Pingback: The I Ching and Chakras, Part 6: A New Way To Look At An Ancient Oracle Through A Card Deck | Sacred Square: Inner Journeys in the Outer World

Share yourself

