“Hexagram Shaman” Art of the I Ching and Chakras.

In what seems to be an expanding “Travelers” Universe (like the Marvel Universe, but different), we’ve added a hexagram pup and a zen cat to the equation. Oh, and that shaman code character, too. Now we’re adding a Hexagram Shaman to the mix. And that’s what this is starting to feel like. Like adding characters to the group. Creating a universe for them to populate. Hmmm?

When I started this blog, I was really just beginning an exploration into this style of art. Of using the symbols of the I Ching (predominately) and the colors of the chakras. It’s expanded and changed from the beginning. Styles have developed. Series of things have cropped up. Exploration and experimentation have been happening. And that’s good. I couldn’t have seen this piece two months ago when I first began. And I can’t see where the next two months will take things. There are ideas exploding in my head that I don’t know if I’ll have the time to create. That’s not a bad problem to have, lol. Far better than the horrible feeling of being an idea-less creative husk.

But enough of those sort of ramblings. The Hexagram Shaman is an interesting work in that it maintains the eight hexagrams of the other shaman, but along with the “Hexagram Pup” and the “Zen Cat”, turn them into all seven chakra colors in one and also present them as hexagrams. The piece is also simpler and more symmetrical in layout and design. The metallic “robot” part is defined in a tighter way, a stylized head with eyes and four, stylized limbs in the yin yang gradient. And we continue with the triangle/pyramid symbols for the four elements of Earth, Air, Fire and Water. This Traveler, at least to me, appears rather child like and whimsical in a certain sense.

Here’s the “Hexagram Shaman”. Original size: 24″x48″.

"Hexagram Shaman" is an original art work bt Sacred Square Design influenced by the I Ching trigrams and hexagrams and the colors of the chakras.

For more information on the eight trigrams and 64 hexagrams of the I Ching, here’s a couple of links that I’ve found to be very helpful and insightful. Psychic Revelations offers more of a quick and focused interpretation. Kind of like a horoscope version.

Here’s a link to the more in-depth Wilhelm translation and interpretation of the I Ching.

As always go explore and mess about. . Opening your intuition and exercising it is never a bad thing. Your comments, opinions and outright disdain is welcome and appreciated. 🙂

yours in the possibility,
Cosmo

P.S. My appreciation and my heart to the ever cherished Zen Girl for all that she blesses me with. Thank you baby.

Share yourself

